A history of coining money
The Théâtre de la Monnaie, or Theatre of the Mint, was built in 1700 to provide Brussels with a prestigious, ceremonial place to showcase opera performances. This new building replaced the Hôtel Ostrevent, which produced coins for circulation under the control of the Spanish Netherlands. At that time, the Hôtel des Monnaies was banished to the city outskirts, but the theatre and the surrounding square continued to be known as «la Monnaie». By transforming the Centre Monnaie into The Mint, the developers have brought new purpose and vitality to this beloved historical site.